Local Time

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Kathmandu

Ice Cap Adventure on November 21, 2019

Kathmandu, the City of Temples, is the cultural hub of Nepal and hosts a rich traditional and cultural heritage. Within the enclosed valley of Kathmandu, you can find seven of the ten UNESCO world heritage sites of Nepal. As such, the UNESCO World Heritage Site Tour in Kathmandu takes you on a journey along with history, where you witness ancient architecture and comprehend its meaning.

The seven UNESCO World Heritage Sites located in Kathmandu are Boudhanath, Swayambhunath, Pashupatinath, Changunarayan, and the three Durbar Squares of Kathmandu, Bhaktapur, and Patan. Each of these sites has its own unique history and contribution to shaping the Kathmandu city of today. Tourists are required to pay a certain amount for visiting permits, which differ according to each place. Here is what you will find on each of these sites:

Boudhanath Stupa


Boudhanath is an ancient Buddhist heritage built in the 5th century. The colossal stupa is also found to be one of the world’s biggest stupas. The base of the stupa is built on an octagonal base, which symbolizes Lord Buddha and his teachings. Around the stupa are various monasteries, which enhance the religious atmosphere. The entry fee for Bouddha for foreigners is NPR. 400; SAARC nationals are charged NPR 100.

Swayambhunath Temple

Swayambhunath is another ancient Buddhist heritage built around 460 A.D. It is believed the area was once the island where King Mandeva later built the Swayambhunath stupa. Similar to Boudhanath, Swayambhunath also has Lord Buddha’s eyes on all 4 sides of the spire base. As much as this place gives you a religious experience, you can also grab a wonderful view of the Kathmandu Valley. The entry fee for Swayambhunath for foreigners is NPR. 200; SAARC nationals are charged NPR 50.

Pashupatinath Temple

Pashupatinath temple is one of the biggest religious symbols, not just in Kathmandu but in the entire world. Pashupatinath is a Hindu temple dedicated to Lord Shiva and is highly regarded as the holiest place for Hindus. This sacred temple lies on the banks of the Bagmati River. Every year, thousands of Hindu devotees visit Pashupatinath to worship Lord Shiva, hoping to get their wishes fulfilled. The entry fee for Pashupatinath is NPR. 1000 for all foreigners, whereas Indian nationals have free entry.

ChanguNarayan Temple

The ChanguNarayan temple lies 15 kilometers away from the city, towards Bhaktapur. The temple showcases ancient stone inscriptions and architecture that date back to 460 A.D. The stairs of the temple create the sculptures of the ten reincarnations of Lord Vishnu. Visiting Changu-Narayan also allows you to explore the ancient city of Bhaktapur and the rich Newari culture. The entry fee of ChanguNarayan for foreigners is NPR. 300; SAARC nationals are charged NPR. 100.

Kathmandu, Bhaktapur and Patan Durbar Squares

The three cities located inside the valley consist of a durbar square each. Each square has a palace surrounded by various other sites, such as temples, museums, and courtyards. You can find ancient sculptures, artifacts, and architecture as you tour around the squares. All of these palace squares are decorated with exceptional craftsmanship. The entry fee for Kathmandu and Lalitpur Durbar Square is NPR 1000, whereas for Bhaktapur Durbar Square, it is NPR 1500. SAARC nationals are charged NPR 150, 250, and 500 to visit Kathmandu, Patan, and Bhaktapur Durbar Squares, respectively.

The heritage sites of Kathmandu Valley are definitely worth a visit. Especially when it comes to the tales of ancient history and architectural inspiration, travelers will only look for more of these. Touring around the UNESCO World Heritage Sites will give you a taste of the rich cultural diversity of Nepal. Along with these UNESCO World Heritage Sites, there are a lot of things to do in Kathmandu. A visit to Nepal will be the best decision ever, as you can enjoy the vacation with your loved ones.